UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation 2022

UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation 2022

The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation (‘Awards’) recognizes exemplary efforts by individuals and organizations to restore or conserve structures, places and properties of heritage value in the region. It encourages other property owners to undertake conservation projects within their communities, either independently or by public-private partnerships.

Since 2000, the Awards programme has recognized 265 winners from 27 Asia-Pacific countries for their thorough understanding of their sites; their sound technical achievements; and their project’s significant social and policy impacts at the local, national and regional levels. By recognizing these practices, the Awards programme has contributed to meaningful achievements in advancing the regional conversation about what constitutes cultural heritage, who has a stake in its stewardship, and how cultural heritage can contribute to the sustainable well-being of cities, societies and the environment.

In 2021, UNESCO and the Ng Teng Fong Charitable Foundation (NTFCF) have entered into a strategic partnership to promote practices of transformative heritage conservation in the Asia-Pacific region. Under this strategic partnership, the Awards programme has launched new initiatives such as the Heritage Apprentice and the Sustainable Heritage Management Masterclass to amplify the impacts of the programme through capacity-building.


The deadline for the receipt of all materials is 31 July 2022.

Award Categories:

Winners will be announced in November 2022 in the following levels of achievement: Award of Excellence, Award of Distinction, Award of Merit, Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts; and Special Recognition for Sustainable Development.

  • The Award of Excellence is the highest recognition in the Awards programme, presented to projects that display exceptional achievement in all criteria, and that demonstrate major catalytic impact at the national or regional level.
  • The Award of Distinction is given to projects that demonstrate outstanding achievement in all criteria, and that have a significant impact at the national or regional level.
  • The Award of Merit recognizes projects that demonstrate superior achievement in all criteria.
  • The Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts is given to newly built projects that demonstrate outstanding design and are well integrated with historic contexts. Submissions of completed new architecture and designs that enrich the existing heritage setting are encouraged. Building annexes, new extensions, new buildings, new public spaces, and new structures – such as bridges – are all eligible for consideration.
  • The Special Recognition for Sustainable Development was introduced in the 2020 Awards cycle to recognize projects that demonstrate noteworthy achievement in the overall Awards criteria and promise a significant impact in contributing to sustainable development. Projects that are submitted to either the Conservation or the New Design category of the Awards programme are eligible for receiving this recognition.
Eligibility Criteria:

Eligible projects must have been completed within the last 10 years (March 2012 – July 2022 if pre-existing use was retained, or July 2021 if a project has a new use). Houses, commercial and institutional buildings, historic towns and villages, archaeological sites and cultural landscapes, for example, are all suitable for submission.

How to Apply:

Entries for the 2022 Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation programme are required to be submitted via the entry form online before the deadline. In addition, the project dossier with supporting documentation, including a description of the project in the official format, and drawings and photographs in hard and soft copy formats should be posted to UNESCO Bangkok by mail and postmarked no later than 31 July 2022.

Application & details: http://bit.ly/APACHC

ขอบคุณที่มา: UNESCO Bangkok